What a First-Time DWI Offense Looks Like in Texas
August 21, 2020
Driving while intoxicated in Texas could result in being charged with a misdemeanor. Anyone over the age of 21 is considered to be intoxicated if the person’s blood alcohol level is over .08. In most situations, you will be given a breathalyzer test if an officer stops you under the suspicion of driving while intoxicated. If you’re driving a commercial vehicle, then you would be considered intoxicated if your alcohol level is a .04. If you’re under the age of 21, then any registered alcohol level will likely lead to charges. Consequences range from 180 days in jail and a small fine up to 10 years in jail and fines that total thousands of dollars. A Houston criminal defense lawyer can explain the differences associated with each consequence and assist in determining why you were intoxicated while driving.
When you go to court for your DWI case with a Houston criminal lawyer, you’ll have the opportunity to explain to the court why you were drinking or using other drugs and driving. Your attorney can present evidence about any prescription drugs that you might have been taking at the time that would have caused your blood alcohol level to show that it was raised. If you were involved in an accident while intoxicated, a criminal defense attorney in Houston can examine the details of the accident and the injuries sustained by anyone involved. After this information is gathered, your attorney can then approach the court about a fair sentence based on your criminal record. You could be ordered to take drunk driving classes, pay fines, or spend time in jail.
An attorney from Daniel Williams & Associates can fight for your freedom by presenting evidence on your behalf and explaining that you are remorseful for your actions. Your attorney could request that your charges be dismissed if there was no accident or if it was your first DWI charge. If the charges can’t be dismissed, then they could be reduced.